My Personal Island…Patmos

Welcome to my Island of confusion, disfigurement, lust, famine, plagues, feebleness, disease, loneliness, curses, strongholds, and love. Welcome to my personal Island Patmos. The reason I am writing about this is because I recently figured out why things dont work out for me and also why I always find myself alone in the dark, lost, cold and afraid. I have been reading books on Revelation trying to figure out what’s going to happen in the end. Then I stumbled across the reason why John was on Patmos, Jesus in the wilderness 40 days, Moses in the wilderness for 40 years, and why Noah was on the ark for so long. I came across that God was taking them away from all distractions so that He can reveal Himself personally to them and also that they would only have Him to rely on. So now that I know this, I can finally see why certain things didnt work out no matter how hard I tried because it’s just not in Gods will for me. Sometimes yes I do get confused and ask God why cant I just have both? The reason I asked was because only He knows what I have been through in this long but short life of mine. So I tried to reason with Him and yes God normally gives me want I want but in the long run it never works out. Then all of a sudden it hit me like a ton of bricks! That He wanted to reveal Himself to me like He did to His chosen few in the past. He wanted to separate me from the old things that I once desired and the things that kept me away from Him. As I read further on why they were in those barren places, God also showed me the new out come, the new Moses, Jesus, Noah and John. Even though they were in times of distress God has never left them He always let His peace and wisdom rest on them so that they would not be dismayed or confused at their situations. What I have learned is this, that God was trying to call me to Him a long time ago and that the things that he promised will never fade away. Even in distress He wants me to still call out to Him, when things get cloudy still have faith and to persevere until I am made complete. Now that I know I am thankful for my Island Patmos because it brought me closer to God.

Leave a Reply

